Loading Events
Saturday, Nov 18, 7:30 PM
Pantages Theater
Tickets: $ 19

Stravinsky: Firebird Suite (1919 version)
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

Stravinsky’s ballet about the magical Firebird was met with critical acclaim and marked the young composer’s breakthrough into the world of classical music. Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G starts with bright and boundless energy, followed by a soulful, introspective second movement. With only three days notice, young pianist Charlie Albright will take the place of Andrew Tyson to play this piece with Symphony Tacoma. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4, hailed as one of the most “towering symphonic structures in our whole literature” by music experts, was said by the composer to deal with the power of fate.  To learn more about the music on this program, click here.



with support from Tacoma Philharmonic Endowment